You can archive and delete your Patients within Cliniko if you need to. If you archive a Patient, they'll be hidden from reports (such as the Patients Without Upcoming Appointments report) and you won't be able to add an Appointment for them -- however, their details will still remain in Cliniko. If you delete a Patient, all of their details will be gone. We recommend archiving your Patients as this will ensure that they'll still be easily accessible, even if they're not a regular!
Archiving a Patient
- Select the Patient you'd like to archive
- Click the Archive button
- You'll see a bright red message indicating the date and time that this Patient was archived
- You'll also see a green success message indicating that they were archived
As long as you see the red banner (which sticks at the top of the Patient's details page) and the green success message, you'll know that your Patient was successfully archived! Now, they'll no longer show up in reports and you won't be able to make an appointment for them, but if you need to access their records, you'll definitely be able to. They'll simply show up as grayed-out in the list of Patients, like this:
Deleting a Patient
Note: You must have the Administrator security level in order to delete a patient. If you are not an administrator the option will not be present. This can be set under Settings → Users and Practitioners.
- Archive the Patient as outlined above
- Click the Delete permanently button
WARNING! This will also delete all of the Patient's associated records, such as Treatment Notes, Invoices, and Appointments. Please keep all legal obligations in mind before deleting a Patient!
- Confirm the deletion (you will need to click "OK" in the pop-up that appears in your browser window)
- You'll see a green success message indicating that the Patient (and their associated records) have been deleted
You cannot reverse a deletion once done -- so do so at your own risk!